Happy New Year!

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

New Year’s Day always involved beef stew, rice and tomatoes, and black-eyed peas for me. Sure, there might be a resolution or two, but for the past few years, none — not because “the End of Days” is coming — but because I wanted to focus on living well day-by-day. That includes writing more and having fun.

Since I’ve brought up 2012, let’s have at it, because this blog will help me to achieve those aforementioned goals.

Why 2012? Why not? Mayan glyphs found in Mexico, one in the Tortuguero site and another more recently in Comalcalco, mention December 21, 2012. It’s the end of the Long Count calendar that began in 3114 B.C.E. You can read more about the date and glyphs in this well-written Associated Press article by Mark Stevenson. I particularly like the mention of, “He/she/it will descend from the sky.”

Why use the name “Doomaday”? I intended to share a new apocalyptic theory daily, but I thought that would get old. I’ll still share theories when I find interesting ones, but I’ll also follow them up with commentary, video clips and other things I think people might want to read.

Do you seriously believe that nonsense? I am very skeptical. I suspect the end of the Long Count calendar rolls over on Dec. 22. I was fortunate enough to work with a man who is Maya and speaks the language. He couldn’t stand hearing all the theories. (Neither can my husband, but he’s learned to just roll his eyes and sigh whenever I turn to the History channel.) That said, I keep an open mind, and I’d like to post all things “apocalyptic” here.

So, it’s more than just 2012 stuff? Oh, absolutely. Why restrain ourselves? On a more serious note, natural and man-made disasters (see: Japan 2011) and societal collapse (Arab Spring 2011) are very real. I also think that Americans as a whole have gotten soft. Before you sputter in indignation, let’s be honest: Very few of us have the skills our grandparents did. I’ve gone a week without power — thanks ’04 hurricanes — so I’m well aware that it would be very difficult for us if something disrupted our “on demand” supermarket culture or power grid. It only makes sense to be prepared for natural disasters, job loss or even worst-case scenarios like terrorism.

May I send you links? Sure, send information to mimsguard[hyphen]doom[at]yahoo[dot]com, and I’ll link back to you.

What are your credentials? I have years of journalism and editing experience, having worked in newspapers, magazines and online, which means I know how to figure out what’s important and when to cut out anything extraneous or false. (That said, we can still discuss some of the sure-to-be false theories.) I love writing fiction and can think up how different apocalyptic scenarios could occur. I’m a history buff and minored in political science, which isn’t surprising since my father spent 35 years as a history teacher (and undoubtedly indoctrinated me). I also have traveled to “apocalyptic” destinations, meaning where some say the cultures have predicted the end of days (Mexico, Israel).

After watching History, I wondered aloud one night about how one becomes an “alien-astronaut theorist.”

My husband said, “Just come up with a theory.”

So, although I don’t have a Ph.D., I think I can become a “doomsday blogger” rather painlessly. Unless, of course, the Apocalypse occurs. Then, I’ll wonder why I wasted so much time blogging when I should have been moving off the grid.

Are you mocking or lecturing us? Hopefully, I’ll fall between humorous and practical. We’ll still have our fun, but if it spurs people to think “What would I do?” then that’s even better.

Comments
  1. Eric says:

    That’s right… you should be digging the bunker, stockpiling the canned food, screwing together your solar powered water distiller, and loading cases of ammunition to stave off the hungry hordes–definitely not blogging. Its 2012!

Leave a Reply

